Events

Sat, 2009-08-15

Ohio Township will hold its annual Community Day for residents on Saturday, Aug. 15. Various activities will begin at 2 p.m. at the township's park on Nicholson Road. The event will conclude with a fireworks display at 9:15 p.m.

Sat, 2009-08-15

Avalon Public Library presents “Eli the Guitar Man” on Saturday, Aug. 15, at noon at the “Back to School Hamburger Bash.”

Children are invited to hear Eli’s new songs, dance, throw frisbees and eat hamburgers.

Thu, 2009-08-13

Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church of Avalon will host its annual “Ice Cream Social” on Thursday, Aug. 13, at 6:30 p.m.

Wed, 2009-08-12

West Winds takes the stage at 7 p.m.

Sat, 2009-08-01

The Avalon Library summer reading program will wrap up on Saturday, Aug. 1, with a performance by the Capezutti Giant Rabbit Puppets.

The puppets will appear at noon during the library's end-of-summer beach party. Young readers should wear their shades and flip flops and bring a towel to wave at the rabbits.

This will be the final opportunity for readers to register for prizes. There will be a special awards ceremony for all summer readers.

Wed, 2009-07-22

The Tom Evans Trio will perform beginning at 7 p.m.

Mon, 2009-07-13

Northminster Presbyterian Church will sponsor “Summer’s Best Two Weeks” day camp on weekdays, July 13-24, at Avalon Park.

Fri, 2009-07-10

Avalon Public Library will host a "Fancy Nancy" and "Fancy Dan" tea party on Friday, July 10, at 10:30 a.m.

Mon, 2009-07-06

Area seniors seeking to learn basic computer skills or enhance their existing knowledge can enroll in July courses offered by the Lutheran Service Society.

Featured classes in-clude Computer Basics, Internet Basics, E-mail Basics, and Great Food and Nutrition Web Sites.

All courses begin the week of July 6 at the Lutheran Service Society in Bellevue. For more information and enrollment, contact Norm Mast at (412)734-9330 or nm ast@lsswpa.org.