Events

Fri, 2009-06-12 - Sat, 2009-06-13

Greenstone U.M. Church, 939 California Ave. in Avalon, will hold its annual Strawberry Festival June 12-13. A variety of events and entertainment will be held Friday, 5-9 p.m., and Saturday, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

Sun, 2009-06-07

Bellevue’s Memorial Park swimming pool will open for the season on Sunday, June 7.

Sat, 2009-06-06

Emmanuel Christian Church in Brighton Heights will hold its annual flea market on Saturday, June 6, from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

A bag sale will be held at 1 p.m. Proceeds from the sale benefit the church’s youth summer conference trip. The church is located at 1427 Davis Ave., (412)766-9243.

Sun, 2009-03-01 - Mon, 2009-03-02

Lifeguard certification and recertification courses will be held at the Northgate Middle-High School pool March 20 and March 27, as well as April 10, 17 and 24, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Sat, 0014-05-03 - Thu, 0014-05-08

Upcoming events at Bayne Library include:

Saturday, May 3, 11 a.m., Saturday Story Time. Stories and crafts for young children accompanied by parent or caregiver.

Monday, May 5, and Wednesday, May 7, the library opens at 8:30 a.m. for adults 55+ to have full use of the facilities.

Monday, May 5, 4 p.m., Planning meeting for the Centennial Celebration.

Wednesday, May 7, 10 a.m., Wise Walk. Meet at the YMCA Community Center at the corner of California Avenue and South Home..

Mon, 0010-05-03 - Sat, 0010-05-08

Coming events at Bayne Library include:

May 3, 11 a.m., Rainbow Toddler Story-time;

May 4, 1 p.m., Mothers Day Storytime (all ages);

May 5, 6 p.m., Friends of Bayne Library meeting;

May 6, 11 a.m., Mommy and Me Toddler Storytime;

May 7, 10:30 a.m., Baby Lapsit (geared for ages birth to 2 years, but all preschoolers welcome);

May 8, 11 a.m. - 1 p.m., Mothers Day card and craft making for children of all ages. Chilkdren under 9 must be accompanied by an adult. No registration required. Crafts will be available while supplies last.

Sat, 0009-09-26

The ladies of St. James Lutheran Church, Emsworth, will hold a luncheon and card party on Saturday, Sept. 26, from noon until 3:30 p.m.