Events

Mon, 2009-07-13

Northminster Presbyterian Church will sponsor “Summer’s Best Two Weeks” day camp on weekdays, July 13-24, at Avalon Park.

Fri, 2009-07-10

Avalon Public Library will host a "Fancy Nancy" and "Fancy Dan" tea party on Friday, July 10, at 10:30 a.m.

Mon, 2009-07-06

Area seniors seeking to learn basic computer skills or enhance their existing knowledge can enroll in July courses offered by the Lutheran Service Society.

Featured classes in-clude Computer Basics, Internet Basics, E-mail Basics, and Great Food and Nutrition Web Sites.

All courses begin the week of July 6 at the Lutheran Service Society in Bellevue. For more information and enrollment, contact Norm Mast at (412)734-9330 or nm ast@lsswpa.org.

Mon, 2009-06-22 - Thu, 2009-06-25

A free day camp for children who have completed kindergarten through fifth grade will be offered June 22-25 by Bellevue United Presbyterian Church.

Sat, 2009-06-20

"Dumpster Day" for residents of Avalon, Ben Avon Heights and Kilbuck Township will be held this year on Saturday, June 20.

On that day residents are given the opportunity to dispose of items that aren't collected during normal weekly trash pick-up. Officials hope that will inspire residents to clean up their properties.

Dumpsters will be located 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. across from the Avalon Fire Hall for residents of Avalon and Ben Avon Heights, and at the municipal building at 343 Eicher Rd. for Kilbuck residents.

Sat, 2009-06-20

Area dogs are invited to join the “Pampered Pooch Promenade” during Bellevue’s Summer Solstice Spectacular.

The pet parade down Lincoln Avenue will begin at 1 p.m. on Sunday, June 21, from the patio of the YMCA, 629 Lincoln Ave.

Prizes will be awarded for the best dressed and most talented canines.

A $5 entry fee will be donated to the Fallen Heroes Fund.

Wed, 2009-06-17 - Wed, 2009-08-12

Free concerts are held Wednesday evenings at ACORD Park.

Most concerts begin at 7 p.m. outside behind Mayernik Center, or indoors if it rains. The pool is open for night swims on concert nights.

Mon, 2009-06-15

Children ages 9-12 can “Be Creative @ Bayne Library” this summer.

The summer program featuring art, music and writing will be held Thursdays, 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m., starting June 18. The program will kick off Monday, June 15, at 6 p.m.

Prizes will be awarded to those who do the most reading.

Children should bring a bag lunch.

Sat, 2009-06-13

Mt. Nebo Presbyterian Church will hold its annual “Strawberry Festival” on Saturday, June 13, 4-7 p.m.