Events

Mon, 2015-01-26 - Sat, 2015-01-31

Upcoming events at Bayne Library include:

Monday, Jan. 26, and Wednesday, Jan. 28, the library opens at 8:30 a.m. for adults 55+ to have full use of the facilities.

Monday, Jan. 26, 10:30-11:15 a.m., Library Outreach. A Bayne Library staff member will visit the Lutheran Services Senior Center on Lincoln Avenue with large print books for members to check out.

Wednesday, Jan. 28, 10 a.m., Wednesday Wise Walk, for adults age 50 and above. Meet at the YMCA Community Center at the corner of California Avenue and South Home.

Tue, 2015-01-13 - Tue, 2015-02-24

WorkAble offers free employment skills workshops, one-on-one volunteer career mentoring, professional career counseling, computer lab access, career fairs and much more. The following workshops are available in Bellevue:

Resumes, 10:30 a.m., Tuesday, Jan. 13. Interviewing, 10:30 a.m., Tuesday, Jan. 27. Job Search Strategies, 10:30 a.m., Tuesday, Feb. 10. Resumes, 10:30 a.m., Tuesday, Feb. 24.

To register, or for more information, contact Harriet Gibbs at hzgibbs@nhco.org or call (412)408-3830 ext. 3219 or www.workableac.com.

Mon, 2015-01-12 - Fri, 2015-01-16

Upcoming events at Bayne Library include:

Monday, Jan. 12, 4:30-6 p.m., Writing Group. Join fellow authors and exchange experiences, suggestions and support.

Wednesday, Jan. 14, 7 p.m. informational meeting for anyone interested in becoming a member of the Friends of Andrew Bayne Library.

Thursday, Jan. 15, 11 a.m., Morning Story Time for young children accompanied by parent or caregiver.

Friday, Jan. 16, 10:30 a.m., Baby Lap Sit.

Sat, 2014-12-13

The Pittsburgh Philharmonic holiday concert and “Toys for Tots” benefit will be held Saturday, Dec. 13, 7 p.m. at Northgate High School.

The cost is $12 for adults, $8 for seniors, $5 for students, and children under age 12 are admitted free.

Tickets will be available at the door or by contacting pghphil.org/tickets. People are asked to bring a new, unwrapped toy, and will received a certificate for a buy one, get one free admission to an upcoming Philharmonic concert.

Sat, 2014-12-13

Avalon Now will “Brighten the Season” in Avalon on Saturday, Dec. 13, 1-5 p.m. at the borough building.

The festivities will include food, drinks, crafts, raffles, vendors, and a free picture with Santa and Mrs. Claus.

Local author Amy Brooks, who wrote “Unseen Arms,” will attend.

The celebration will end at 5 p.m. with a tree lighting ceremony at Avalon Elementary and free cookies and hot chocolate at Trinity Lutheran Church.

Fri, 2014-11-28 - Wed, 2014-12-24

The Avalon Volunteer Fire Company is selling Christmas trees at 629 New Brighton Rd., now through Wednesday, Dec. 24.

Hours are Monday -Friday, 5-10 p.m. and Saturday-Sunday, 10 a.m.-10 p.m.

Trees can be delivered at no cost to residents of Avalon and Ben Avon Heights, or to other North Boroughs residents for a $5 donation.

Fri, 2014-11-28 - Thu, 2014-12-25

Free parking and a "Season of Stars" celebration will brighten the holiday festivities in Bellevue.

Free parking at all meters is available now through Christmas Day, after 10 a.m. each day. There is a two-hour limit on Lincoln Avenue parking.

There will be music, hot chocolate, crafts and a visit from Santa Claus when the North Suburban Chamber of Commerce celebrates the Season of Stars on Friday, Dec. 5. The evening will kick off with a tree lighting at the YMCA at 5 p.m. Santa is expected to arrive at the Center of Bellevue patio about 6:45 p.m.

Sun, 2014-06-22

Assumption School’s Fifth annual flea market will be held Saturday, June 21, 8 a.m. - 2 p.m. and Sunday, June 22, 9 a.m.-1 p.m. in McGovern Hall under Assumption Church, 45 N. Sprague Ave., Bellevue.

Basket raffles and concessions also will be featured. All proceeds benefit the school.

Sat, 2014-06-21

Mt. Nebo Presbyterian Church will sponsor a picnic-style dinner, strawberry festival and car cruise on Saturday, June 21, 4-7 p.m.

The church is located on Roosevelt Road in Ohio Township.