Events

Wed, 2015-04-01

You know that spring really is here (knock on wood) when you have to start moving your vehicle for street sweeping. April 1 marks the date when parking restrictions will go back into effect in local boroughs, particularly Avalon and Bellevue. Checks signs on your street for days and times of parking restrictions.

Fri, 2015-02-20 - Fri, 2015-04-03

Avalon Volunteer Fire Company will hold a fish fry each Friday in Lent, 4-8 p.m., at the fire hall, 629 New Brighton Rd., Avalon.

Eat-in dinners are $9 and include a fish sandwich, cole slaw, choice of one side and a drink.

Take-out dinners are $8. and include a fish sandwich, cole slaw and choice of one side.

Sides include French fries, macaroni and cheese, haluski and pierogies.

A $10, special, all-you-can-eat fish dinner will be held on Friday, Feb. 20, only.

Fri, 2015-02-13

Holy Family Manor will hold its second annual spaghetti dinner on Friday, Feb. 13, 5:30-7:30 p.m.

The dinner will be held at Community at Holy Family Manor Auditorium, 301 Nazareth Way, Pittsburgh 15229.

Dinner consists of spaghetti with meat sauce or marinara sauce, salad, a roll with butter and dessert. Take out is available.

Dinners costs are: adults, $8.; senior citizens 65 or older, $6.; children ages 6-12, $6.; and children aged 5 or younger are free. Payment must be made by cash or check only.

Mon, 2015-02-09 - Wed, 2015-02-11

Upcoming events at Avalon Public Library include:

Monday, Feb. 9, 10:30 a.m., Preschool Story Time, “Be Mine.

Monday, Feb. 9, 11:15 a.m., Community Book Group. Meet at the YMCA Community Center. Discussing “The Book Thief,” by Markus Zusak.

Tuesday, Feb. 10, 6:30 p.m., Family Story Time, “Be Mine.”

Tuesday, Feb. 10, 7 p.m., WQED grades K-3 Writers Contest, parent information session.

Wednesday, Feb. 11, 10 a.m., Wednesday Walk. Meet at the YMCA Community Center.

Wednesday, Feb. 11, 10:30 a.m. and 1 p.m., Babies and Books, for ages 0 – 24 months and their caregiver.

Mon, 2015-01-26 - Sat, 2015-01-31

Upcoming events at Bayne Library include:

Monday, Jan. 26, and Wednesday, Jan. 28, the library opens at 8:30 a.m. for adults 55+ to have full use of the facilities.

Monday, Jan. 26, 10:30-11:15 a.m., Library Outreach. A Bayne Library staff member will visit the Lutheran Services Senior Center on Lincoln Avenue with large print books for members to check out.

Wednesday, Jan. 28, 10 a.m., Wednesday Wise Walk, for adults age 50 and above. Meet at the YMCA Community Center at the corner of California Avenue and South Home.

Tue, 2015-01-13 - Tue, 2015-02-24

WorkAble offers free employment skills workshops, one-on-one volunteer career mentoring, professional career counseling, computer lab access, career fairs and much more. The following workshops are available in Bellevue:

Resumes, 10:30 a.m., Tuesday, Jan. 13. Interviewing, 10:30 a.m., Tuesday, Jan. 27. Job Search Strategies, 10:30 a.m., Tuesday, Feb. 10. Resumes, 10:30 a.m., Tuesday, Feb. 24.

To register, or for more information, contact Harriet Gibbs at hzgibbs@nhco.org or call (412)408-3830 ext. 3219 or www.workableac.com.

Mon, 2015-01-12 - Fri, 2015-01-16

Upcoming events at Bayne Library include:

Monday, Jan. 12, 4:30-6 p.m., Writing Group. Join fellow authors and exchange experiences, suggestions and support.

Wednesday, Jan. 14, 7 p.m. informational meeting for anyone interested in becoming a member of the Friends of Andrew Bayne Library.

Thursday, Jan. 15, 11 a.m., Morning Story Time for young children accompanied by parent or caregiver.

Friday, Jan. 16, 10:30 a.m., Baby Lap Sit.

Sat, 2014-12-13

The Pittsburgh Philharmonic holiday concert and “Toys for Tots” benefit will be held Saturday, Dec. 13, 7 p.m. at Northgate High School.

The cost is $12 for adults, $8 for seniors, $5 for students, and children under age 12 are admitted free.

Tickets will be available at the door or by contacting pghphil.org/tickets. People are asked to bring a new, unwrapped toy, and will received a certificate for a buy one, get one free admission to an upcoming Philharmonic concert.

Sat, 2014-12-13

Avalon Now will “Brighten the Season” in Avalon on Saturday, Dec. 13, 1-5 p.m. at the borough building.

The festivities will include food, drinks, crafts, raffles, vendors, and a free picture with Santa and Mrs. Claus.

Local author Amy Brooks, who wrote “Unseen Arms,” will attend.

The celebration will end at 5 p.m. with a tree lighting ceremony at Avalon Elementary and free cookies and hot chocolate at Trinity Lutheran Church.