Events

Fri, 2015-07-17 - Sat, 2015-07-18

Ohio Township Fire Company’s carnival will begin with the annual firetruck parade on Friday, July 17, at 7 p.m.

The parade begins at the fire station, 1520 Roosevelt Rd., and ends at the community park, 325 Nicholson Rd.

Carnival activities include games of chance, food, drinks, “Kids’ Land,” bingo, football toss, slap shot hockey, hay rides and the carnival raffle.

The kitchen and games open at 5 p.m. on Saturday, July 18. There will be a free concert by Touche.

Mon, 2015-07-06 - Sat, 2015-07-11

Upcoming events at Bayne Library include:

Monday, July 6 and Wednesday, July 8, the library opens at 8:30 a.m. for adults age 55 and above to have full use of the facilities.

Tuesday, July 7, 1 p.m., Science with Jade, interactive presentation by Jade Leung.

Wednesday, July 8, 10 a.m., Take a Wednesday Walk! For adults age 50 and above; meet at the YMCA Community Center at the corner of California and South Home avenues in Avalon.

Wednesday, July 8, dusk, movie, “Amazing Spiderman 2” in Bayne Memorial Park.

Sat, 2015-07-04

Bellevue Borough will hold its annual July 4th picnic at memorial Park on Saturday, July 4, noon - 3 p.m.

There will be a free lunch, activities for children -- including inflatables -- and a hula hoop contest for all ages.

Admission to the swimming pool is free from noon until 6 p.m.

Sat, 2015-06-27

The annual North Boroughs Independence Day Fireworks Celebration scheduled for Saturday, June 27, at Avalon Field has been canceled due to weather.

Because the rain and thunderstorms are expected to continue through the coming week, the rain date of Friday, July 3, also has been canceled.

The fireworks will be held on Sunday, Sept. 6, during Labor Day weekend.

Wed, 2015-06-24 - Wed, 2015-08-12

The following events will take place on Wednesdays at Bayne Park, Bellevue.

Summer films (all begin at dusk): June 24, “Boxtrolls” (PG) July 8, “Amazing Spiderman 2” (PG13) July 22, “Big Hero 6” (PG) Aug. 12, “Frozen” (Sing along) (PG)

Summer Concerts (all begin at 7 p.m.): July 1, RML Jazz July 15, The Flow Band July 29, Blues Orphans

Mon, 2015-06-08 - Fri, 2015-06-12

Upcoming events at Bayne Library include: Monday, June 8, Summer Reading registration begins.

Monday, June 8, 10:30-11:15 a.m., Library Outreach at Lutheran Services Senior Center. A library staff member will visit with large print books for members to check out and enjoy.

Monday, June 8, 4:30-6 p.m., Writer’s Group. Bring a sample of your work to share and help critique the work of other group members.

Tuesday, June 9, 10:30 a.m., Book Discussion. This month, discussing “The Art Forger” by B.A. Shapiro.

Mon, 2015-06-08 - Fri, 2015-06-12

Upcoming events at Bayne Library include: Monday, June 8, Summer Reading registration begins.

Monday, June 8, 10:30-11:15 a.m., Library Outreach at Lutheran Services Senior Center. A library staff member will visit with large print books for members to check out and enjoy.

Monday, June 8, 4:30-6 p.m., Writer’s Group. Bring a sample of your work to share and help critique the work of other group members.

Tuesday, June 9, 10:30 a.m., Book Discussion. This month, discussing “The Art Forger” by B.A. Shapiro.

Sat, 2015-05-30

The Bellevue Dog Woods will host a festival for canines and their owners on Saturday, May 30, 10 a.m. - 2 p.m. at the off-leash park located in memorial park, Bellevue Road.

Vendors will offer items made just for dogs (and cats), imncluding treats, toys and accessories. People will be able to get information from various services available for pets.

Avalon Veterinary Hospital will be providing low-cost rabies vaccines at a cost of $10. These will be one-year vaccines. Owners who would like to get the three-year vaccine must bring their dogs' vaccination records.

Mon, 2015-05-25

The 69th annual Avonworth Community Memorial Day Parade will take place Monday, May 25, beginning at 10 a.m.

Parade division numbers I and II will march along Center Avenue in Emsworth and continue along Church Avenue in Ben Avon. Division III emergency services will line up at the former Shop ‘n Save lot and join the parade there.

Services will begin at 11 a.m. at Lance Cpl. Kenny Field. Robert B. Jones, mayor of Ben Avon and Vietnam War veteran, will be the guest speaker.

In case of rain, services will be held at Sacred Heart Church, in Smith Center.