Events

Mon, 2015-09-07

The annual Dog Swim Party sponsored by the Bellevue Dog Woods association will be held on Labor Day, Monday, Sept. 7, 6:30 p.m. at Bellevue Memorial Park swimming pool.

Registration will begin at 6 p.m. Cost is $10 per dog with up to two human companions. Extra humans, $2 each. No children under age 12. No aggressive dogs.

All proceeds benefit the Bellevue Dog Woods off-leash dog park. The event will be held rain or shine.

Sun, 2015-09-06

The annual North Boroughs Fireworks event will be held Sunday, Sept. 6, beginning at 6:30 p.m. at Avalon Field on New Brighton Road.

The evening will begin with musical entertainment and refreshments. There will be a free bike raffle (Winner must be present) at 8 p.m. The fireworks will begin at dusk, about 8:30 p.m.

In case the event must be canceled due to weather, the cancellation will be posted here.

Sat, 2015-08-22

Trinity Lutheran Church will sponsor the eighth annual “Great Avalon Yard Sale” on Saturday, Aug. 22, 8 a.m.-2 p.m.

To find the yard sales, stop at the church located at 638 California Ave. and receive a free map.

Borough residents who wish to participate should call (412)761-4010 or (412)761-5416 to be placed on the map. To help with advertising expenses, a $10 donation is requested.

Fri, 2015-08-21 - Mon, 2015-09-07

Avalon swimming pool will go to a limited schedule as the pending school year begins whittling away at its workforce. Parks committee chair Ralph Cortese said that the pool will be open until Aug. 24, then will close until the weekend of Aug. 29-30. It also will be open Sept. 4-7 from noon until 6 p.m. before closing for the winter.

Tue, 2015-08-04

Bellevue will celebrate “National Night Out Against Crime” on Tuesday, Aug. 4, 4-8 pm. in Bayne Park .

There will be activities for children and adults.

Featured events include performances by local musicians and artists, fitness-education classes, a bicycle parade, games and activities for children including face painting, crafts, and a bouncy house.

Emergency vehicles will be on display. There also will be a library book sale, fingerprinting and identification cards, a dunk tank, bake sales, a 50/50 raffle and free food.

Sun, 2015-08-02

The Avalon High School All-Class Reunion will be held Sunday, Aug. 2, 11 a.m.-dark at the Rose Barn in North Park.

Activities include door prizes, a 50/50 raffle, music, and food.

Donations of fruit, salads, side dishes, desserts and beverages are welcome. Financial donations are also appreciated.

For more information, contact Dave or Linda Short at (724)453-1401 or shortsnd@zoominter net.net.

Fri, 2015-07-17 - Sat, 2015-07-18

Ohio Township Fire Company’s carnival will begin with the annual firetruck parade on Friday, July 17, at 7 p.m.

The parade begins at the fire station, 1520 Roosevelt Rd., and ends at the community park, 325 Nicholson Rd.

Carnival activities include games of chance, food, drinks, “Kids’ Land,” bingo, football toss, slap shot hockey, hay rides and the carnival raffle.

The kitchen and games open at 5 p.m. on Saturday, July 18. There will be a free concert by Touche.

Mon, 2015-07-06 - Sat, 2015-07-11

Upcoming events at Bayne Library include:

Monday, July 6 and Wednesday, July 8, the library opens at 8:30 a.m. for adults age 55 and above to have full use of the facilities.

Tuesday, July 7, 1 p.m., Science with Jade, interactive presentation by Jade Leung.

Wednesday, July 8, 10 a.m., Take a Wednesday Walk! For adults age 50 and above; meet at the YMCA Community Center at the corner of California and South Home avenues in Avalon.

Wednesday, July 8, dusk, movie, “Amazing Spiderman 2” in Bayne Memorial Park.

Sat, 2015-07-04

Bellevue Borough will hold its annual July 4th picnic at memorial Park on Saturday, July 4, noon - 3 p.m.

There will be a free lunch, activities for children -- including inflatables -- and a hula hoop contest for all ages.

Admission to the swimming pool is free from noon until 6 p.m.