Events

Mon, 2018-11-19 - Tue, 2018-11-20

Monday, Nov. 19 and Wednesday, Nov. 21, the library opens 8:30-10 a.m. for Senior Coffee and to give seniors full use of the facilities.

Monday, Nov. 19, Kid’s Book Club. “Trumpet of the Swan,” by E.B. White.

Tuesday, Nov. 20, 6 p.m., Library Friends Meeting.

Thursday, Nov. 22 and Friday, Nov. 23, the library is closed for the Thanksgiving holiday.

For more information about events at the Bayne Library, go to baynelibrary.org or call (412)766-7447.

Fri, 2018-11-16 - Mon, 2018-12-31

Individuals making financial donations to North Hills Community Outreach between now and Dec. 31 will be matched dollar for dollar, up to the first $38,000 raised, thanks to the organization’s board of directors raising $38,000 to encourage matching donations.

Checks can be mailed to NHCO, 1975 Ferguson Rd., Allison Park, PA 15101. Online donations can be made at nhco.org.

Fri, 2018-11-16

Senior citizens residing in Avalon and Bellevue are invited to attend a luncheon and show, Friday, Nov. 16, at the Northgate Middle/High School. The luncheon features turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, vegetable, cranberry sauce, dinner roll and pumpkin dessert. The cost for lunch is $2.

The luncheon will take place at 10:45 a.m., and the show begins in the auditorium at 11:30 a.m. and features performances by students.

Fri, 2018-11-09 - Wed, 2018-12-12

North Hills Community Outreach is collecting new toys, games, sporting equipment, apparel and gift cards for children ages birth through 18, until Dec. 12. Earlier donations are encouraged. Gift cards and gifts appropriate for teens are especially needed.

NHCO offices, including the main office at 1975 Ferguson Rd, are open weekdays, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. The pantry behind the main building in Hampton will be open for donations 9 a.m.-noon on Saturday, Dec. 1.

Alternate plans can be made by calling (412)487-6316, opt. 1. For more information, visit nhco.org.

Mon, 2018-09-10 - Tue, 2018-09-11

Assumption Parish is accepting registrations for the upcoming CCD year.

Classes begin Sept. 10 for grades kindergarten through 4 and Sep. 11 for grades 5 through 8.

Registration forms are available at the Parish Office, in the Church and on the parish website.

For further information, call Mary Vic Taylor, (412)766-4046 or email Mary at maryvictaylor@gmail.com.

Sun, 2018-08-26

Community Presbyterian Church of Ben Avon is hosting its third annual jazz and dinner event, Sunday, Aug. 26, 5-7 p.m.

The event features a rib/BBQ cook off and will take place in the church’s air conditioned fellowship hall, 7501 Church Ave., Ben Avon.

Proceeds benefit HEARTH. Suggested donations are $10 for adults and $5 for children.

Everyone is welcome.

For more information, go to http://cpcba.org/jazzbbq or send an email to CPCBAJazz@gmail.com.

Sat, 2018-08-25

Trinity Lutheran Church will sponsor the 11th Great Avalon Yard Sale, Saturday, Aug. 25, 8 a.m.-2 p.m.

To find the yard sales, stop by the church at 638 California Ave. to receive a free map.

Avalon Borough residents who wish to participate may contact the church at (412)761-4010 or (412)761-5416 to have their yard sale listed on the map. To help with advertising expenses, a $10 donation is requested.

Trinity Lutheran will serve free hot dogs from 11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Sun, 2018-08-19

The North Boroughs Democratic Committees are hosting an ice cream social, Sunday, Aug. 19, 1-3 p.m. at Avon Park in Ben Avon to meet representatives and Democratic candidates.

The public is invited to this free event. Donations are welcome.

Sun, 2018-08-05

Bonafidebellevue is hosting a bonsai class, Sunday, Aug. 5, 12:30-2:30 p.m., at The Center of Bellevue. The class is designed to teach pruning and wiring techniques to style bonsai trees.

The cost is $10 if you already have a tree or $40 to receive a tree and ceramic pot.

The class is taught by David Rizwan, a former Bellevue resident who is current serving as First Curator’s Apprentice at the National Bonsai Foundation at the U.S. National Bonsai and Penjing Museum in Washington, D.C.