Events

Thu, 2017-10-19

The League of Women Voters of Greater Pittsburgh will sponsor a non-partisan forum Thursday, Oct. 19, 7 p.m., at The Center in Bellevue at 2 North Sprague Ave. Candidates for Bellevue mayor, Bellevue Borough council, and for the new position on the Northgate School Board will be present. Doors open at 6:30 p.m.

Sat, 2017-09-30

"Dumpster Day" for Avalon and Bellevue residents will be held Saturday, Sept. 30, 8 AM - NOON In the swimming pool parking lot at 708 New Brighton Rd.

Proof of residency required. Limited to 2 vehicle trips.

No contractors. Non-residents: $20/load

NO: Tires, car batteries, varnish, paint or appliances such as refrigerators, air conditioners, dehumidifiers or water coolers.

ABSOLUTELY NO TELEVISIONS, COMPUTERS OR ELECTRONICS OF ANY KIND. No bagged household garbage that is normally picked up by your regular hauler.

Sat, 2017-09-30

The Avon Club will host its annual Fall Festival, Saturday, Sept. 30, 10 a.m.-4 p.m. on Church Avenue (between Dickson and Dalzell avenues) in Ben Avon.

Local artisans, a DJ and more than 40 vendors will be in attendance. The event also features games and crafts for kids, a used book sale, raffles, homemade food, baked goods and more.

For additional information, go to avonclub.benavon.org.

Fri, 2017-09-15 - Sun, 2017-11-05

The Bellevue Volunteer Fire Company will host a Holiday Craft and Vendor Show, Sunday, Nov. 5, at the Knights of Columbus on Lincoln Avenue.

Spaces are available for $25-$35.

For more information on becoming a vendor, pick up an application at the fire station or contact Jenn Slavicek, jlslavicek@yahoo.com.

Sat, 2017-09-09

Bellevue’s Sesquicentennial Committee is hosting a picnic, Saturday, Sept 9, 11 a.m.-4 p.m. at Bayne Park.

Bellevue will received special recognition at 11 a.m., and the day includes “old fashioned games” with prizes for kids and a disc jockey.

Everyone is invited to bring a blanket and picnic basket and enjoy this community celebration event.

Fri, 2017-09-01 - Tue, 2017-10-17

North Hills Community Outreach begins its annual coat drive Friday, Sept. 1, by collecting new and gently-used winter coats for families in need.

All sizes of coats are appreciated; children’s and adult XL-XXL are especially needed.

Hats, gloves and scarves are also welcome.

Coats should be clean and have working zippers and fasteners.

Donations can be dropped off at NHCO Allison Park, Monday-Friday, Sept. 1 through Oct. 17 or in the NHCO Allison Park food pantry on Saturday, Oct. 7, 9 a.m.-noon.

Due to space limitations, NHCO is unable to accept coats after Oct. 17.

Sun, 2017-08-06

The Community Presbyterian Church of Ben Avon will hold its second annual free jazz and dinner event, Sunday, Aug. 6, 5-7 p.m., in the air-conditioned Fellowship Hall at 7501 Church Ave., Ben Avon.

The event features a rib/BBQ cook-off. Proceeds benefit Pleasant Valley Men’s Shelter, a program of Northside Common Ministries.

For more information, go to htpp://CPCBA Jazz.weebly.com or e-mail CPCBAJazz @gmail.com.

Mon, 2017-07-17 - Fri, 2017-07-28

The North Boroughs Corps of the Salvation Army will hold “Camp Courage!” a vacation Bible school for children ages 6-12, Monday-Friday, July 17-28, from noon-4 p.m., at 658 Lincoln Avenue in Bellevue. The camp concludes with a sing-along on Sunday, July 30, 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

There will be arts, field trips and many more activities involving the theme “Nature and God.” Lunch will be served each day, as well as snacks.

There is no cost for participants.

For more information and to register, call (412)415-1726, ext. 103.

Sat, 2017-07-01

The North Boroughs will host a “Community Day,” Saturday, July 1, noon-dusk at the Avalon Park and Field on New Brighton Road.

The event features many activities including free swimming at the Avalon Pool, noon-6 p.m.; the 3WS Sports Challenge 4-6 p.m., live music 7 p.m.-dusk, a drawing for free bikes at 8:15 p.m.; and fireworks at 9:15 p.m.

Additionally there will be 50/50 and raffle drawings. Food and drinks will be available for purchase.

The event is hosted by Avalon, Bellevue, Ben Avon, Ben Avon Heights and Emsworth boroughs.