Events

Fri, 2018-12-14 - Mon, 2018-12-31

North Hills Community Outreach is seeking funds for their program “Sharing Winter Warmth,” so families in need can receive one $50 credit toward a heat or light bill.

Donations can be made online at https://nhco.org/donate/sww or by check, payable to NHCO, memo line “Sharing Projects” and mail to NHCO, 1975 Ferguson Rd., Allison Park, PA 15101.

For more information, call (412)487-6316, opt. 1.

Mon, 2018-12-10 - Fri, 2018-12-14

Monday, Dec. 10, 10:30 a.m., Family Story Time.

Monday, Dec. 10, 11:15 a.m., Community Book Group. Meet at the YMCA community center. Discussion “Lost December,” by Richard Paul Evans.

Tuesday, Dec. 11, 6:30 p.m., Family Story Time.

Wednesday, Dec. 12, 10:30 a.m. Babies and Books, for children 0-24 months old and their caregiver.

Thursday, Dec. 13, 2 p.m., free Bingo with small, non-monetary prizes.

Thursday, Dec. 13, 4:30-5:30 p.m., Drawing and Coloring Club for ages 10 and up or younger with a participating adult. Any skill level welcome.

Sun, 2018-12-09

Join Santa for breakfast at Avonworth Community Park on Camp Horne Road, Sunday, Dec. 9, 11 a.m-1 p.m.

Activities include breakfast, craft stations, games, music, a train display, and your very own picture with Santa.

Your dog may get a picture taken with Santa, too,for a $5 donation. On this special day, the park trails will be open to dogs. The cost is $15 per adult, $10 per child for Breakfast with Santa, and. $5 per dog for the cabin and trail access.

For tickets, call (412)766-1700 or e-mail info@avonworthcommuitypark.org

Sat, 2018-12-08

Santa and Mrs. Claus will read stories to children at Avalon Now’s Storytime with Santa event, Saturday, Dec. 8, 5-7 p.m., at the Avalon Borough Hall.

Cookies and milk, reindeer crafts, and photo opportunities with Santa and the Mrs. will be available. Pets are welcome for pictures, but must be in a cage or attached to a non-retracting leash.

Parents must be present with their children.

Mon, 2018-11-19 - Tue, 2018-11-20

Monday, Nov. 19 and Wednesday, Nov. 21, the library opens 8:30-10 a.m. for Senior Coffee and to give seniors full use of the facilities.

Monday, Nov. 19, Kid’s Book Club. “Trumpet of the Swan,” by E.B. White.

Tuesday, Nov. 20, 6 p.m., Library Friends Meeting.

Thursday, Nov. 22 and Friday, Nov. 23, the library is closed for the Thanksgiving holiday.

For more information about events at the Bayne Library, go to baynelibrary.org or call (412)766-7447.

Fri, 2018-11-16 - Mon, 2018-12-31

Individuals making financial donations to North Hills Community Outreach between now and Dec. 31 will be matched dollar for dollar, up to the first $38,000 raised, thanks to the organization’s board of directors raising $38,000 to encourage matching donations.

Checks can be mailed to NHCO, 1975 Ferguson Rd., Allison Park, PA 15101. Online donations can be made at nhco.org.

Fri, 2018-11-16

Senior citizens residing in Avalon and Bellevue are invited to attend a luncheon and show, Friday, Nov. 16, at the Northgate Middle/High School. The luncheon features turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, vegetable, cranberry sauce, dinner roll and pumpkin dessert. The cost for lunch is $2.

The luncheon will take place at 10:45 a.m., and the show begins in the auditorium at 11:30 a.m. and features performances by students.

Fri, 2018-11-09 - Wed, 2018-12-12

North Hills Community Outreach is collecting new toys, games, sporting equipment, apparel and gift cards for children ages birth through 18, until Dec. 12. Earlier donations are encouraged. Gift cards and gifts appropriate for teens are especially needed.

NHCO offices, including the main office at 1975 Ferguson Rd, are open weekdays, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. The pantry behind the main building in Hampton will be open for donations 9 a.m.-noon on Saturday, Dec. 1.

Alternate plans can be made by calling (412)487-6316, opt. 1. For more information, visit nhco.org.

Mon, 2018-09-10 - Tue, 2018-09-11

Assumption Parish is accepting registrations for the upcoming CCD year.

Classes begin Sept. 10 for grades kindergarten through 4 and Sep. 11 for grades 5 through 8.

Registration forms are available at the Parish Office, in the Church and on the parish website.

For further information, call Mary Vic Taylor, (412)766-4046 or email Mary at maryvictaylor@gmail.com.