Events

Mon, 2017-07-17 - Fri, 2017-07-28

The North Boroughs Corps of the Salvation Army will hold “Camp Courage!” a vacation Bible school for children ages 6-12, Monday-Friday, July 17-28, from noon-4 p.m., at 658 Lincoln Avenue in Bellevue. The camp concludes with a sing-along on Sunday, July 30, 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

There will be arts, field trips and many more activities involving the theme “Nature and God.” Lunch will be served each day, as well as snacks.

There is no cost for participants.

For more information and to register, call (412)415-1726, ext. 103.

Sat, 2017-07-01

The North Boroughs will host a “Community Day,” Saturday, July 1, noon-dusk at the Avalon Park and Field on New Brighton Road.

The event features many activities including free swimming at the Avalon Pool, noon-6 p.m.; the 3WS Sports Challenge 4-6 p.m., live music 7 p.m.-dusk, a drawing for free bikes at 8:15 p.m.; and fireworks at 9:15 p.m.

Additionally there will be 50/50 and raffle drawings. Food and drinks will be available for purchase.

The event is hosted by Avalon, Bellevue, Ben Avon, Ben Avon Heights and Emsworth boroughs.

Wed, 2017-06-28

A farmers market will return to Bellevue on Wednesday, June 28, 4-7 p.m. at Bayne Park.

The market will run each Wednesdayand feature locally grown produce and prepared foods as well as crafts and other vendors. Free yoga and skate board lessons will be featured at the grand opening on June 28.

The markets will be followed by Bayne Park’s regular schedule of summer movies and concerts, all of which are free to the public.

Thu, 2017-06-08 - Sun, 2017-06-11

The Borough of Bellevue will celebrate the 150th anniversary of its founding with a wide variety of activities and events.

The sesquicentennial festivities begin Thursday, June 8, 7 p.m., with the Fireman’s Parade on Lincoln Avenue. Members of the 150th Club have priority seating.

After the parade, the carnival at the Northgate football field opens at 8 p.m. and runs until 10 p.m.

Friday, June 9, 6-9 p.m., the Bellevue Art Show takes place at PJR Photography and Studio, 31 N. Balph Ave.

The carnival at Northgate Alumni Stadium is open 7-11 p.m. on Friday.

Mon, 2017-05-29 - Sat, 2017-06-03

Upcoming events at Avalon Public Library include:

Tuesday, May 30, 6:30 p.m., Family Story Time, “Picnic Time.”

Wednesday, May 31, 10 a.m., Wednesday Walk. Meet at the YMCA Community Center.

Wednesday, May 31, 10:30 a.m., Babies and Books, for 0-2 year olds and their caregiver.

Wednesday, May 31, 12:30-1 p.m., Mother Goose on the Loose, program for toddlers ages 3 and under with their caregivers.

Thursday, June 1, 4:30-5:30 p.m., Drawing and Adult Coloring for ages 10 and up.

Thursday, June 1, 5:30 p.m., Writer’s Group for teens and adults. New members welcome.

Mon, 2017-05-29

The 71st annual Avonworth Community Memorial Day Parade is Monday, May 29, beginning at 10 a.m.

The parade route begins at Pittsburgh Street and Center Avenue in Emsworth, continues to Church Avenue in Ben Avon and ends at the Lance Cpl. Patrick Kenny Field on Ohio River Boulevard.

Services honoring Avonworth veterans begin at 11 a.m.In case of rain, services will be held at 11 a.m. in the Smith Center of Sacred Heart Church.

Tue, 2017-05-23

A community challenge volleyball match, Bellevue and Avalon police officers versus Northgate teachers and students, will be held Tuesday, May 23, 6 p.m., in the Northgate High School gymnasium.

Cost is $2 a person or $5 for the entire family.

Proceeds of the event will be donated to D.A.R.E., an organization advocating resisting drugs and violence.

A concession stand supporting Avalon and Bellevue PTOs will be available.

Fri, 2017-05-19

The public is invited to attend the dedication of a gazebo built in Jason Dilliott’s name, Friday, May 19, 7:30 p.m. at Northgate High School.

Jason Dilliott, a beloved band director in the Northgate School District, passed away Aug. 3, 2014. Mr. D. spent endless hours sharing his love of music and life.

Past or current band members interested in playing at the dedication are asked to contact Kathleen King, (412)715-5621 or Lori King at lking@northgate.k12.pa.us by May 12.

Thu, 2017-05-11

There will be a Career Fair, Thursday, May 11, 9 a.m.-noon, at the Knights of Columbus, 450 Lincoln Ave.

Over a dozen employers will be present, including Allegheny County, Amazon, Builders Guild/Union construction trades, Duquesne Light, FedEx Ground, Giant Eagle, Home Depot, McDonald’s, PNC Bank, Rivers Casino, the University of Pittsburgh, and more.

It is suggested that attendees review the Web sites of featured employers prior to attending the career fair and apply on-line for positions. Attendees should dress professionally and bring copies of their resumes.