Scholastic Art Awards

winning artists, from left: Caroline Carlson, Anders Ove, Ben Pietrusinski, Olivia Cronin, Billy Molinari, Welcome Tjelmeland, Alexandra Reinhart, Bryan Blysma, and Chloe Schweiger. Photo by Tom Steiner for The Citizen

Eight Avonworth High School students are among this year's winners of Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, which since 1923 have recognized the vision, ingenuity, and talent of young artists and provided opportunities for creative teens to be celebrated. Students across America submitted 255,000 original works during the 2014 program year.

The Avonworth winners include Caroline Carlson and Anders Ove, each an honorable mention; Ben Pietrusinski, a silver key; Olivia Cronin, four honorable mentions; Billy Molinari, three gold keys, one silver key, one honorable mention; Welcome Tjelmeland, a silver key;Alexandra Reinhart, Bryan Blysma, Chloe Schweiger, each an honorable mention. Top award winner Billy Molinari's was honored for artwork that varied from digital to contemporary work.